Heatherwritesablog

Wanted: Gouge of Earth | May 18, 2011

Did I leave you dreaming about what it would be like to be flat? Cool, I hope you now have stories to rival Stanley’s!  Now, back to October 17th, 2010! On our way to the Grand Canyon we stopped at The Coconino National Forest.  We ascended the mountainous area one hairpin turn after another. By the end of it, my Prius was calling me mean names.

Overlooking the abysmal valleys below from the cliffs at the top of the ridge, my stomach was a little unsure of itself. I experienced that “I’m scared to death, hate this feeling but love this feeling because I can feel this feeling” kind of moment.  All you could see were treetops, and more treetops…it was incapacitatingly magnificent.  My stomach is telling me to move on..and also “get me some potato chips!”

Walking past craft stands and piles of pine needles that I wished I had rolled around in, we departed the Oak Creek ledge.  For a surreal few minutes approaching the Grand Canyon, the car sporadically collided with one grand rain drop after another.  One drop literally splashed across the entire windshield.  It was the strangest rainfall I can remember. It was a foreshadowing of what we would see next.

Passing through security (hi, what are you securing, it’s a hole?), map distributors, gates and parking barricades, we landed.  And then, beneath bursts of sunlight, among damp evergreens and extinguished campfire pits we saw this enormous gouge of earth missing from the space in front of us.

The Grand Canyon

Pictures don't do it justice.

Leave a Comment »

Leave a Reply

About author

Hi! My name is Heather and I write a blog :) I hope you enjoy!

Search

Navigation

Categories:

Links:

Archives:

Feeds

